Tiny House: Blessed Interruptions

Ok, so it’s been a while.  Two months or so?  Anyway, I haven’t given up on building, died, or otherwise smacked my little head on the pavement.  Here’s a recap of what’s happened since January…

All along, I’ve had this plan.  A grand plan really of building a tiny house, doing all the construction myself, being done in less than a year, and under budget.  What can I say, I dream big!

To this point, most of the construction I’ve done myself.  I hired out the framing because all those materials are super heavy and it would’ve taken me months to hoist all that stuff myself.  I hired out the electric work because I don’t want to go down in flames and I want to eventually get insurance (which you can’t get unless you have a licensed electrician do the install or get your work inspected).  And now I’ve hired out the plumbing because I don’t want to drown in my sleep.

At any rate, I’m slowly but surely plodding along, learning you have to caulk everything, where to get the best deals on flooring and fixtures, and what “deburring” means.  Then around mid-January while I was waiting on the weather to warm up (so I could put caulk on the exterior), I got an email that went something like this:

“Hey guess what?  Some people that were supposed to lead a kid’s program at a conference bailed at the last minute.  Is there any way you can help out?  Oh yeah, the conference is in a month and it’s in Thailand.”

My first thought was…well, I didn’t think at first, I laughed.  If ever there was an impossible situation, it was this.  Then secondly, I thought, “Um, no.  There’s no way!”  But I asked my friend to give me two days to give her an answer and that I’d pray about it.

In those two days, I tried to figure out every way it could possibly work.  As I prayed, I made a list of all the “things” in my head that I thought needed to be taken care of in order for me to go.  The list is in a journal somewhere that is currently in a box, but the jist is this:  A last-minute international flight? Lodging for almost two weeks?  No time off work?  A house-sitter? AND I’m supposed to be moved out of the condo and in to the interim-room-but-not-quite-the-tiny-house-yet situation by March 1.  If I went to the conference, I’d be home with just one week to move out.

After the two days were up, I knew I had to approach my boss about the time off.  Oh, AND I work in finance…this time of year is budget season otherwise known as “the busiest season of the year.”

Then the most amazing thing happened:  every question was answered and every detail fell in to place.  I literally did nothing.  Boss was ok with me being gone.  I had enough air miles to get a flight for free.  Lodging was taken care of. A family friend was stoked to stay at the condo for two weeks.  And some great friends offered to help me move when I got back to town.

So off I went!  It was a whirlwind full of hot weather, new languages, smiling kiddos, and sweet friends.

Here are the highlights of the blessed interruption to “my plans”…

Flying out of SF

DSC00878

1st morning in Hua Hin, Thailand…those are local fishermen who work for the beach restaurant just down the way

DSC00902

 

Jet lag helps you get up with the sunrise…also, it was so glorious I didn’t want to miss it!DSC00897DSC00900

Mango in a bag.

DSC00894

 

Huge tropical flowers DSC00913DSC00914DSC00915

 

The kiddos…I helped with the crafts so everyday we made the stickiest, glittery-est messes…DSC00936

 

…decorating our flip flops…DSC00939DSC00953

 

…and name tags…DSC00955

 

…making Valentines for parents…DSC00963DSC00964

 

and eating frozen jello….which looked disgusting but she loved it.DSC00968

They also learned songs which they performed for the parents at the end of the conference…DSC00976

DSC00973

 

After the conference, I got to see a little of the country… like how they “do” electricityDSC00997

 

…and construction…DSC00994

 

…driving…which is not as scary as driving in India…DSC01005

 

…and shopping at the night market.DSC01018DSC01016DSC01008DSC01009DSC00970

 

One thought on “Tiny House: Blessed Interruptions

Leave a Reply

