Tiny house – building furniture

Last weekend was full of furniture…the desks, the kitchen sink stand, and the bathroom vanity. And I think random cabinet doors and the last of the pipes…

For the desks, I used the plans from Ana White: http://www.ana-white.com/2016/05/free_plans/flip-desks-convert-table-our-tiny-house

She and her husband are carpenters and have all kinds of useful information on their website. Also FREE PLANS! WHAAAAAAAT?!?!?!!!

For the desks, I had to modify her plans a little so I could fit them over the wheel well. But it started by learning how to make pocket holes with a Kreg jig. This nifty tool makes hidden holes so you can screw furniture pieces together. The only thing is, you HAVE to pay attention or you’ll make the hole too deep and it will go all the way through the wood and your screw will slip out the other end. I’m guessing.

img_2710

Pocket holes in action… Getting the pieces started is squirrley especially if you have glue on one end it wants to slide around. Quite a bit of time was spent correcting crooked pieces.

img_2709

The carcass of the desk. See that short back leg? That’s the part that will eventually sit on top of the wheel well.

img_2707

Then the bathroom vanity was next. Again, I used Ana’s idea from here: http://www.ana-white.com/2013/09/plans/48-turned-leg-vanity

Her plan calls for a 48″ wide vanity and NO WAY do I have that kind space in the bathroom…so I had to modify the size. I kept the basic design the same and doodled out what I thought I wanted it to look like.

img_2713

Then I started putting it together.

img_2712

The end product turned out a little different…I decided to put 1×2’s on the bottom shelf as opposed to a solid shelf.  And as much as I wanted turned legs, I wasn’t about to pay $69 a piece! Forget that. I’ll just use 2×2’s. I did find these finial things at the Lowe’s and they make cool feet (shown further down)!

img_2718

And lastly, the kitchen sink stand….

img_2715

This one did NOT want to cooperate. I got the front assembled, but the wood was warped or something dumb so I had to pull the back legs in to “square”. There was some cracking, but I’m pleased to report, nothing broke! At least not yet.

img_2716

Wash-tub sink…

img_2717

Then I had to schlep all the things in the house to check the fit. I’m not going to go to all the trouble of finishing the thing if it doesn’t fit!

img_2721

img_2723

Everything fit perfectly 🙂 So now it was on to painting… you’ll see below when the two desks are pushed together along the long edge, they almost form a square that will be for the dining table!

img_2728

Bathroom…you can kind of see the cute little feet here… there is still quite a bit of work to do on this one, but at least the guts are done.

img_2729

Desks DONE! The top I found at Lowe’s…I think it’s called a craft board? It looks kind of like a butcher block. I asked Lowe’s to cut it for me, then I stained it….

img_2730

…and attached hinges to the back for some more storage. This space is countertop, office, storage, and dining…

img_2731

I also finished the railing for the lofts…galvanized pipe painted Oil-Rubbed Bronze…

img_2732\img_2733

And the cabinet doors are done, but not attached. Details, details…

img_2734

Leave a Reply

